Paul's Place of Musings and Insights

the reflections of a techno-meddling teacher

AITSL Standards Overview

The Australian Professional Standards for Teachers comprise seven Standards which outline what teachers should know and be able to do. The Standards are interconnected, interdependent and overlapping.

The Standards are grouped into three domains of teaching: Professional Knowledge,Professional Practice and Professional Engagement. In practice, teaching draws on aspects of all three domains.

Within each Standard, focus areas provide further illustration of teaching knowledge, practice and professional engagement. These are then separated into Descriptors at four professional career stages: GraduateProficientHighly Accomplished and Lead.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar